Culture

Something is taking shape here.

The Waldhaus is suffused with culture. Culture is in its genes. Embedded in a landscape of European renown, full of natural beauty and of culture, our hotel has provided inspiration to many and continues to do so; prominent artists and intellectuals have been coming here since we first opened our doors.

As hosts and organizers of numerous cultural events, we have long cultivated a cultural commitment that radiates beyond local and cantonal boundaries, while remaining firmly anchored in the region. But we can happily say that culture is by no means confined to what takes place within our walls. The Waldhaus is part and parcel of the rich cultural life of the Engadine as a whole.

The philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche helped make Sils Maria famous in the 19th century. Other authors, artists and intellectuals soon followed, often staying at the Waldhaus. Even today an extraordinary range of personalities reads and rests, composes and plays, writes and philosophizes at the Waldhaus in Sils Maria – the village which Hermann Hesse called “paradise on earth”.

What they share is as simple as it is hard to describe: the sense of well-being that comes from being a Waldhaus guest.

Sils is what the devout call a place of special energy. And the Waldhaus’s unique culture still allows you to escape from the flat earth of globalization into the lost realms of the European spirit.

Adolf Muschg

Grand Hotel Waldhaus – Timeless

Times change but some things are timeless. Each morning as we stand in front of the managers’ office and wind the “Magneta” master clock, which has been in operation since 1908 and guides a dozen wall clocks throughout the hotel, we are subtly confronted with what is timeless. And we cherish it, just as we do the salon music of our resident trio.

We will be happy to show you the past at the Waldhaus, as well as how our present evolves into the future, during one of our regular hotel tours which include the hotel museum in the old bakery whimsically re-designed by artist Giuseppe Reichmuth. Attend a Welte-Mignon presentation during the summer season. It is a 1910 player piano, played with perforated paper rolls. Our house mechanic Guido Schmidt brought it back to life, after it had fallen silent for half a century, working on it meticulously for years.

Readings and concerts regularly take place at the Waldhaus. Sils Maria and its surroundings offer a wealth of other cultural discoveries. Take a look at our daily newsletter during breakfast, check out our calendar of events or simply ask us.

Famous guests – A Waldhaus for the generations

The 20th century: a century of imperialism, world wars, the upheaval of political systems, economic development and prosperity.
The Waldhaus: host to generations of philosophers, politicians, writers, musicians and composers, entrepreneurs, visual artists, scientists, theater and film directors and actors.

Guests have included:

  • Theodor W. Adorno
  • Thomas Bernhard
  • Joseph Beuys
  • David Bowie
  • Claude Chabrol
  • Marc Chagall
  • Neville Chamberlain
  • Friedrich Dürrenmatt
  • Gottlieb Duttweiler
  • Albert Einstein
  • Pierre Fournier
  • Clara Haskil
  • Hermann Hesse
  • Theodor Heuss
  • Arthur Honegger
  • Carl Gustav Jung
  • Erich Kästner
  • Otto Klemperer
  • Franz Kardinal König
  • Max Liebermann
  • Rolf Liebermann
  • Thomas Mann
  • François Mauriac
  • Alberto Moravia & Elsa Morante
  • Maurizio Pollini
  • Emil Rathenau
  • Michael Redgrave
  • Max Reinhardt
  • Gerhard Richter
  • Paul Sacher
  • Maximilian Schell
  • Rudolf Serkin
  • Georg Solti
  • Fritz Stern
  • Richard Strauss
  • Richard Tauber
  • Luchino Visconti
  • Bruno Walter

Resonanzen – International cultural festival in Sils

A high point of the Waldhaus cultural calendar: Resonanzen, an international cultural festival, which takes place in Sils for a week in September. Set in the autumnal atmosphere of the Engadine, the festival at the Waldhaus offers first-rate chamber music, readings and lectures, and erudite and entertaining moderators. Full-day cultural walks devoted to specific topics are among the popular offerings of this cultural week.

Tickets and reservations
mail@waldhaus-sils.ch
+41 81 838 51 00

Free for children up to 12.

Foundation

To ensure and further strengthen the cultural life in and around the Waldhaus, Felix Dietrich set up the Kultur im Waldhaus Sils Foundation in 2015.
Please join us in supporting this worthy cause. We would very much appreciate your contribution.

The Foundation Board members would be happy to answer your questions. For additional information see our flyer:

dietrich.felix@waldhaus-sils.ch
Felix Dietrich, (Foundation) Chairman

Kultur im Waldhaus Sils Foundation
Via da Fex 3, 7514 Sils/Segl Maria

The Foundation Board

  • Claudia Carigiet
  • Larissa Bieler
  • Felix Dietrich, Präsident
  • Arthur Godel
  • Urs Kienberger

Stiftung Kultur im Waldhaus Sils
IBAN-Nr. CH77 0077 4010 3142 9590 0

Kultur

Hier entsteht etwas.

Das Waldhaus hat Kultur. Das Waldhaus ist Kultur. Viele Impulse gingen und gehen von unserem Hotel aus, das – eingebettet in eine der schönsten Kulturlandschaften Europas – von der ersten Saison an bedeutende Künstler und Intellektuelle beherbergte.

Kultur ist für uns nicht nur etwas, das im Hotel selbst stattfindet – auch wenn wir im Laufe der Jahrzehnte zu einem engagierten Veranstalter geworden sind. Wir sehen Kultur eingebettet in ein grosses Ganzes und sind Teil der Engadiner Kulturlandschaft. Als Gastgeber und Veranstalter pflegen wir ein kulturelles Engagement mit Strahlkraft über kantonale Grenzen hinweg, aber mit regionaler Verankerung.

Der Philosoph Friedrich Nietzsche begründete im 19. Jahrhundert den Ruhm von Sils Maria. Dichter und Denker folgten und stiegen oft im Waldhaus ab. Bis zum heutigen Tag lesen und ruhen, komponieren und spielen, dichten und denken die aussergewöhnlichsten Persönlichkeiten im Waldhaus von Sils Maria – einem Ort, den Hermann Hesse als das «vorgeträumte Paradies» bezeichnete.

Sie alle verbindet das Wohlgefühl, Gast im Waldhaus zu sein – ein Mensch unter Menschen.

Der Denker

Sils ist, was andächtige Leute einen Kraftort nennen. Und die einzigartige Kultur des Waldhauses erlaubt immer noch einen Ausstieg aus der flachen Welt der Globalisierung in eine vergangene Sphäre europäischen Geistes.

Adolf Muschg

Grand Hotel Waldhaus – zeitlos gut

Die Zeiten ändern sich, doch es gibt Dinge, die sind zeitlos gut. Wenn wir jeden Morgen vor dem Direktionsbüro die «Magneta» – Mutteruhr der Hotel-Uhrenanlage von 1908 aufziehen, erinnern wir uns daran – das zeitlos Gute. Und wir pflegen es – wie die Salonmusik, repräsentiert durch unser Waldhaustrio.

Was vergangen ist im Waldhaus und wie wir uns weiterentwickeln, das zeigen wir Ihnen gerne in unseren regelmässigen Führungen durch unser Haus und das vom Künstler Giuseppe Reichmuth gestaltete Waldhaus-Museum in der alten Bäckerei.

Besuchen Sie während der Sommersaison eine der Vorführungen des Welte-Mignon. Das Welte-Mignon ist ein mechanisches Klavier aus dem Jahr 1910. Es wird mit gestanzten Papierrollen gespielt. Unser ehemaliger Haustechniker Guido Schmidt restaurierte es in mehrjähriger Arbeit.

Sie wollen endlich wieder in Ruhe lesen? Wo ginge das besser als im Waldhaus? Stöbern Sie doch mal in unserer kleinen Bibliothek oder fragen Sie nach dem Schlüssel für die Schätze aus früheren Zeiten.

Im Waldhaus finden regelmässig Lesungen oder Konzerte statt. Sils Maria und die nähere Umgebung – hier gibt es kulturell viel zu entdecken. Studieren Sie unsere Tagespost, die täglich auf Ihrem Frühstückstisch bereitliegt, schauen Sie auf den Veranstaltungskalender oder fragen Sie uns.

Resonanzen – Internationales Kulturfest Sils

Höhepunkt des Waldhaus-Kulturkalenders sind die Resonanzen – Internationales Kulturfest Sils. Es findet jeweils eine Woche lang im September statt. Eingebettet in die herbstliche Stimmung der Engadiner Landschaft erleben Sie unter dem Dach des Waldhauses Kammermusik, Lesungen und Vorträge von Format, anspruchsvoll und unterhaltsam moderiert. Ganztägige Kulturwanderungen zu interessanten Themen bilden weitere beliebte Programmpunkte dieser Kulturwoche im September.

Tickets und Reservation
mail@waldhaus-sils.ch
+41 81 838 51 00

Kinder bis 12 Jahre frei.

Grammophon

Stiftung

Zum Erhalt und zur Förderung unseres Kulturprogramms in und um das Waldhaus und in unserer Region wurde unter der Leitung von Felix Dietrich im Jahr 2015 die Stiftung Kultur im Waldhaus ins Leben gerufen.

Wir freuen uns sehr, wenn Ihnen unser Engagement gefällt und Sie dieses unterstützen wollen. Machen Sie mit?

Der Stiftungsrat und die Stifter stehen Ihnen gerne Red und Antwort! Bitte entnehmen Sie weitere Informationen unserem Flyer oder kontaktieren Sie uns:

dietrich.felix@waldhaus-sils.ch
Felix Dietrich, Stiftungspräsident

Stiftung Kultur im Waldhaus Sils
Via da Fex 3, 7514 Sils/Segl Maria

Der Stiftungsrat

  • Esther Schneider
  • Larissa Bieler
  • Felix Dietrich, Präsident
  • Arthur Godel
  • Urs Kienberger

Stiftung Kultur im Waldhaus Sils
IBAN-Nr. CH77 0077 4010 3142 9590 0


Mit der Unterstützung der Stiftung «Kultur im Waldhaus», konnten im März 2021 die untenstehenden Veranstaltungen
für unsere Gäste aufgenommen werden (natürlich ohne Publikum).

 

 

«Vico Torriani – ein Engadiner singt sich in die Welt»
Hommage zum 100. Geburtstag von Vico Torriani

 

«Vom Engadin bis Genua»
Chasper Pult im Gespräch mit der Autorin Romana Ganzoni

 

Podiumsdiskussion zum Thema
«Coronakrise als Hoffnungsschimmer»

 

«Der lange Weg der Oper ins Engadin»
Eine Reise von den Anfängen der Oper bis zum
Opera Engiadina-Gastspiel im Waldhaus Sils 2021.


Berühmte Gäste – Ein Waldhaus für Zeitgenossen

Das 20. Jahrhundert: ein Jahrhundert des Imperialismus, der Weltkriege, des Umsturz politischer Systeme, des wirtschaftlichen Aufbaus und Blüte. Das Waldhaus: Gastgeber von Zeitgenossen – Philosophen, Politikern, Schriftstellern, Musikern & Komponisten, Unternehmern, bildenden Künstlern, Wissenschaftlern, Regisseuren & Schauspielern.

Es waren zu Gast:

  • Theodor W. Adorno
  • Thomas Bernhard
  • Joseph Beuys
  • David Bowie
  • Claude Chabrol
  • Marc Chagall
  • Neville Chamberlain
  • Friedrich Dürrenmatt
  • Gottlieb Duttweiler
  • Albert Einstein
  • Pierre Fournier
  • Bruno Ganz
  • Clara Haskil
  • Hermann Hesse
  • Theodor Heuss
  • Arthur Honegger
  • Carl Gustav Jung
  • Erich Kästner
  • Otto Klemperer
  • Franz Kardinal König
  • Max Liebermann
  • Rolf Liebermann
  • Thomas Mann
  • François Mauriac
  • Alberto Moravia & Elsa Morante
  • Maurizio Pollini
  • Emil Rathenau
  • Michael Redgrave
  • Max Reinhardt
  • Gerhard Richter
  • Paul Sacher
  • Maximilian Schell
  • Rudolf Serkin
  • Georg Solti
  • Fritz Stern
  • Richard Strauss
  • Richard Tauber
  • Luchino Visconti
  • Bruno Walter