History

The Waldhaus was opened on June 15, 1908, by our (great-) great grandparents Josef Giger (1847–1921) and Amalie Giger-Nigg (1849–1924). For many years, they had managed grand hotels but were not the owners. Now, they had a hotel of their own.

They were followed by their daughter and son-in-law Oskar und Helen Kienberger, masterful pilots under frequently the most adverse external conditions. Then their son Rolf Kienberger (1917–1994) und seiner Frau Rita (1926–2006)took over. Starting in 1977 Maria und Felix Dietrich-Kienberger assumed responsibility, first shared with Maria’s parents, then, starting in 1989, with Maria’s brother Urs Kienberger (b. 1952).

Since 2010, brothers Claudio und Patrick Dietrich (b. 1977 und 1980) have taken over management. Claudio is in charge of everything concerning food and drink, with Patrick responsible for accommodations, from reservations to housekeeping. Together they continue to give the Waldhaus a human face and a very personal character.

The Waldhaus thus remains purely a family affair without external partners or managers, very rare for a hotel of this kind and size. Of course, even here many things have changed. For one thing, we invest several million Swiss francs in the Waldhaus every year and have done so for many decades. But we have deliberately refrained from expanding the hotel’s capacity, recognizing that this is essential if we still want to receive and look after our guests in the same way that earlier generations took for granted. Our ancestors would still easily recognize the hotel they wrought!

We went back to Sils-Maria as well, for about five weeks… We have been going there every summer for a dozen years now, for a number of reasons, the climate, the scenery … but also because we meet people there every year who, like us, keep coming back and have become friends.

Hermann Hesse


Architecture of the Waldhaus

The Waldhaus holds a prominent position within Swiss hotel architecture. ICOMOS Switzerland, the International Council on Monuments and Sites, named it Swiss “Historic Hotel of the Year” in 2005. In 2015, it received a special anniversary prize “20 years of Historic Hotels of the Year”. The Waldhaus

Read more

Geschichte

Das Waldhaus wurde am 15. Juni 1908 von Josef Giger (1847–1921) und Amalie Giger-Nigg (1849–1924), unseren (Ur-)Urgrosseltern eröffnet. Lange hatten sie grosse Hotels anderer Leute geführt. Jetzt war’s endlich ein Eigenes.

Ihnen folgten – mit Auszeichnung und oft unter ganz schwierigen Bedingungen – ihre Tochter mit deren Mann, Oskar und Helen Kienberger, mit Auszeichnung und oft unter schwierigsten Bedingungen. Sie wiederum übergaben den Stab Rolf Kienberger (1917–1994) und seiner Frau Rita (1926–2006). Ab 1977 lag die Verantwortung 33 Jahre lang bei Maria und Felix Dietrich-Kienberger, zunächst noch mit den Eltern, ab 1989 dann mit Marias Bruder Urs Kienberger.

Seit Sommer 2010 hat mit den Brüdern Claudio und Patrick Dietrich (geb. 1977 und 1980) bereits die fünfte Generation das Sagen. Claudios Hauptbereich ist alles, was mit Essen und Trinken zu tun hat, der von Patrick die Beherbergung der Gäste. Gemeinsam geben sie dem Hotel weiterhin ein Gesicht und einen ganz persönlichen Charakter.

So bleibt das Waldhaus, was es in dieser Art und Grösse kaum mehr gibt: ein reiner Familienbetrieb ohne aussenstehende Teilhaber und Direktoren. Natürlich hat sich auch im Waldhaus viel verändert. Seit Jahrzehnten investieren wir z. B. Jahr für Jahr mehrere Millionen. Aber es ist in dieser Zeit kaum grösser geworden, und das ist kein Zufall: Nur so bleibt es uns möglich, unsere Gäste ebenso persönlich zu empfangen und zu betreuen, wie es unseren Vorfahren selbstverständlich war. Sie würden ihr Lebenswerk immer noch wiedererkennen!

In Sils-Maria waren wir auch wieder, etwa fünf Wochen… Wir waren jetzt etwa seit 12 Jahren jeden Sommer dort, aus vielen Gründen, des Klimas und der Landschaft wegen, …aber auch weil wir dort jedes Jahr Leute treffen, die gleich uns immer wieder hinkommen und uns Freunde geworden sind.

Hermann Hesse


Die Architektur des Waldhauses

ICOMOS Schweiz, International Council on Monuments and Sites, kürte es 2005 zum Historischen Hotel des Jahres. 2015 erhielt es den grossen Jubiläumspreis «20 Jahre Historische Hotels des Jahres». Was macht das Waldhaus so einzigartig?

Details anschauen