Generation II

Josef Giger had brilliantly conceived the Waldhaus and then, just as brilliantly, launched its first seasons, but he wore himself out in the process. Sooner than expected, the responsibility passed to his only son and oldest daughter. The outbreak of World War I in 1914 and its economic impact hit them and the hotel, barely six years old, like a storm and confronted them with almost impossible challenges. In 1918, Oskar and Helen Kienberger-Giger came to the rescue, already tried and tested hoteliers in their own right. Helen (1882–1959) was the Gigers’ second-oldest daughter, Oskar (1879–1965) another ‘hotel child’ from Bad Ragaz, from the Grand Hotel Quellenhof.

Oskar Kienberger’s entrepreneurial gifts were a great blessing for the hotel, as were his considerable private means, which he ultimately invested in the enterprise to the very last penny. With the ever-growing popularity of winter sports, the Kienbergers decided to start opening in winter, too, in 1924, and soon both summer and winter were booming.
On March 11, 1927, a major fire gutted the southern part of the hotel. Undaunted, the Kienbergers set to rebuilding at once, making important improvements in the process. After a mere three months, the Waldhaus reopened for the 1927 summer season, looking even better than before.
Their response to a disaster of a very different kind, the Depression starting in 1930 and the war years that followed, was no less impressive. They and the entire family put everything into saving the family business. In 1939, the winter season had to be given up, but the Waldhaus tenaciously stayed open every summer – as it always has, ever since 1908.

  • 1908–1912 Josef and Amalie Giger-Nigg with Gustav Giger
  • 1913–1917 Gustav Giger, Amalie Wolflisberg-Giger
  • 1918–1949 (1960) Oskar and Helen Kienberger-Giger until 1924 mit Gustav Giger and Amalie Wolflisberg-Giger 1950–1960 with Rolf and Rita Kienberger

La deuxième génération

Ayant conçu et introduit le Waldhaus avec brio, Josef Giger est exténué. Bien trop vite, la responsabilité incombe au fils unique et à la fille aînée des fondateurs. En 1914, la Première Guerre mondiale éclate, plaçant l’établissement d’à peine six ans et ses responsables devant des défis inouïs aux répercussions économiques désastreuses. En 1918, Oskar et Helen Kienberger-Giger viennent à la rescousse. Helen (1882–1959) est la deuxième fille des Giger, et Oskar Kienberger (1879–1965) un enfant du Grand Hôtel Quellenhof de Bad Ragaz. Les deux jouissent déjà d’une solide expérience comme hôteliers.

Leur arrivée, avec le grand talent entrepreneurial d’Oskar Kienberger et le fait que, au fil des ans, ils n’hésiteront pas à investir pratiquement la totalité de leur fortune privée considérable dans l’entreprise, s’avèrent une aubaine pour le Waldhaus. En 1924, la popularité croissante de l’hiver alpin conduit les Kienberger à ouvrir l’hôtel en hiver pour la première fois. Les saisons d’été et d’hiver connaissent enfin une prospérité économique bien méritée.

C’est à cette époque aussi, le 11 mars 1927, que se produit le grand incendie de l’aile sud du bâtiment. Un désastre, mais les Kienberger ne se laissent pas abattre, saisissant l’occasion pour réaliser des rénovations importantes. Et dès la saison d’été de 1927, le Waldhaus resplendit, plus beau que jamais.

Leur réaction à une épreuve de toute autre forme, les nouvelles années noires de crise économique et de conflit mondial à partir de 1930, n’est pas moins admirable. Il faudra toute l’énergie et l’engagement de la famille au complet pour la surmonter. Et même si l’hôtel doit renoncer aux saisons d’hiver à partir de 1939, il est resté ouvert en été, avec détermination et sans exception, depuis 1908.

  • 1908–1912 Josef et Amalie Giger-Nigg avec Gustav Giger
  • 1913–1917 Gustav Giger, Amalie Wolflisberg-Giger
  • 1918–1949 (1960) Oskar et Helen Kienberger-Giger jusqu’en 1924 avec Gustav Giger et Amalie Wolflisberg-Giger 1950–1960 avec Rolf et Rita Kienberger