History

The Waldhaus was opened on June 15, 1908, by our (great-) great grandparents Josef Giger (1847–1921) and Amalie Giger-Nigg (1849–1924). For many years, they had managed grand hotels but were not the owners. Now, they had a hotel of their own.

They were followed by their daughter and son-in-law Oskar und Helen Kienberger, masterful pilots under frequently the most adverse external conditions. Then their son Rolf Kienberger (1917–1994) und seiner Frau Rita (1926–2006)took over. Starting in 1977 Maria und Felix Dietrich-Kienberger assumed responsibility, first shared with Maria’s parents, then, starting in 1989, with Maria’s brother Urs Kienberger (b. 1952).

Since 2010, brothers Claudio und Patrick Dietrich (b. 1977 und 1980) have taken over management. Claudio is in charge of everything concerning food and drink, with Patrick responsible for accommodations, from reservations to housekeeping. Together they continue to give the Waldhaus a human face and a very personal character.

The Waldhaus thus remains purely a family affair without external partners or managers, very rare for a hotel of this kind and size. Of course, even here many things have changed. For one thing, we invest several million Swiss francs in the Waldhaus every year and have done so for many decades. But we have deliberately refrained from expanding the hotel’s capacity, recognizing that this is essential if we still want to receive and look after our guests in the same way that earlier generations took for granted. Our ancestors would still easily recognize the hotel they wrought!

We went back to Sils-Maria as well, for about five weeks… We have been going there every summer for a dozen years now, for a number of reasons, the climate, the scenery … but also because we meet people there every year who, like us, keep coming back and have become friends.

Hermann Hesse


Architecture of the Waldhaus

The Waldhaus holds a prominent position within Swiss hotel architecture. ICOMOS Switzerland, the International Council on Monuments and Sites, named it Swiss “Historic Hotel of the Year” in 2005. In 2015, it received a special anniversary prize “20 years of Historic Hotels of the Year”. The Waldhaus

Read more

Histoire

Le 15 juin 1908, nos (arrière-)arrière-grands-parents Josef Giger (1847–1921) et Amalie Giger-Nigg (1849–1924), ouvrent le Waldhaus. Après avoir longtemps dirigé de grands hôtels qui n’étaient pas les leurs, ils ont enfin leur propre établissement.

Leur fille et leur gendre, Oskar et Helen Kienberger, leur succèdent, se confrontant avec bravoure à des conditions souvent très difficiles. À leur tour, ils passent le relais à Rolf Kienberger (1917–1994) et à son épouse Rita (1926–2006). À partir de 1977, la responsabilité incombe durant 33 ans à Maria et Felix Dietrich-Kienberger, encore avec Rolf et Rita Kienberger dans un premier temps, puis avec le frère de Maria,Urs Kienberger (né en 1952).

Depuis 2010, la cinquième génération est à la barre, avec les frères Claudio et Patrick Dietrich (nés en 1977 et 1980). Claudio s’occupe de tout ce qui touche à la restauration (cuisine, cave et service), Patrick est responsable avant tout du logement, des réservations et de l’intendance. Ensemble, ils conservent à l’hôtel un visage et un caractère très personnel.

C’est ainsi que le Waldhaus demeure un phénomène à part, surtout pour un hôtel de cette taille: une entreprise purement familiale, sans actionnaires ni directeurs externes. Bien vivant, le Waldhaus a naturellement changé au fil des ans. Chaque année, depuis des décennies, nous investissons des millions dans notre établissement. Pour autant, il n’a guère changé de taille, ce qui n’est pas le fruit du hasard. C’est en effet la seule façon pour nous de continuer à recevoir et à prendre soin de nos hôtes avec l’attention toute personnelle qui allait de soi pour nos ancêtres. Nous sommes certains qu’ils reconnaîtraient leur œuvre!

Nous sommes retournés à Sils, environ cinq semaines… Voici près de 12 ans que nous y allons chaque été, pour de nombreuses raisons, comme le climat et le paysage, … mais aussi parce que nous y rencontrons année après année des gens qui, comme nous, y reviennent toujours et qui sont devenus nos amis.

Hermann Hesse


L'architecture du Waldhaus

Le Waldhaus occupe une place privilégiée dans l’architecture hôtelière suisse. En 2005, ICOMOS Suisse (International Council on Monuments and Sites) nous octroie le titre d’Hôtel historique de l’année. En 2015, nous obtenons le grand prix Jubilé «20 ans d’Hôtels historiques de l’année».

Continuer à lire