Food and Drinks

Executive Chef Dennis Brunner, Sous-Chef Fabian Marolf and Pastry Chef Renato Pellegrinelli has have consuming passion. What their kitchen crew lovingly arranges on the plates is nothing less than the taste of the Waldhaus itself: forest and garden, the Fex valley and Bregaglia, Alp Prasüra and the mountains.

With great respect for local producers in a region blessed by intact nature, our chefs serve our discerning guests a series of delights both large and small.

Wine steward Oscar Comalli and Managing Director Claudio Dietrich share a passion: the Waldhaus wine cellar. Some 35,000 bottles, of which around 30 to 40% are Swiss wines, are stored here. Prominent rankings by wine experts and publications often mention our wine list. It represents a stunning selection at decidedly reasonable prices.

Wine list

Passion is in play when Renato Pellegrinelli adds the final touch to a pineapple sorbet with a hint of mint.

Helge von Giese

Half-Pension – Get to know us better

There is no better way to get to know our culinary philosophy than by opting for the traditional half-pension plan. Executive Chef Dennis Brunner and his kitchen crew bring close to a thousand different dishes to the table in the course of a season. As a half-pension guest, you get to choose between different first courses, main courses – including fish and vegetarian options – and desserts every day. For example, Weekly gala dinners provide further variety, as do our dinners with a special theme and other special evenings. Dinner example

Do you have a food allergy or intolerance or do you avoid certain foods for ethical reasons? Executive Chef Dennis Brunner is specially certified as a diet chef and would be happy to discuss your personal needs. Do not hesitate to contact him even before your arrival.

 


From local producers

The Waldhaus has always had a close relationship with local producers. The farmers we work with are passionate about agriculture and take it very seriously. This, in turn, informs all their dealings with their animals, their crops and their land, and it shows in the quality of their products – whether it is meadow-fresh milk from the Fex valley, goat cheese from Isola, dried meat from Pila or heirloom carrots from the Albula valley.

Note how we carefully list ingredients and suppliers at the breakfast buffet and on our daily menus: “Tagliata of beef from Val Poschiavo cooked on our 108-year-old charcoal grill, baked potatoes with pimento and rosemary, Sicilian vegetable ragout with Taggiasca olives and apple vinegar, lime chimichurri sauce”. Enjoying the tasty foods, you also get closer to their origins.

The Waldhaus chefs integrates these natural ingredients into their menus, wherever they can. We also admit that some of us derive great pleasure from visiting one or the other of the nearby farms.

Learn more about our suppliers, those self-dependent, hard-working lovers of nature.

LINKS to the producers

Hof «Al Canton»; Renato Chiesa; Andy Mark; Marco Giovanoli; Uschlaingias; Antonio Giacometti; Crasta Farm; Fränzi Egeler; Freddy Christandl; Heinrich Tschalèr; Familie Tschanz; Latteria Bregaglia; Sennerei; Mulino Scartazzini

 

  • Sennerei Pontresina

    Cheese speciality

  • Hof «Al Canton»

    Herb farmer

  • Marco Giovanoli

    Cow farmer

Cuisine & Cave

Notre Chef Gero Porstein, son Sous-chef Matthias Kovarik, aussi bien que notre Chef pâtissier Renato Pellegrinelli ont une passion. Ce que leur brigade dépose sur les assiettes est la parfaite illustration de la philosophie du goût du Waldhaus: la forêt et le jardin, le val Fex et le val Bregaglia, Alp Prasüra – les montagnes.

Profondément respectueux des producteurs de notre région, cet espace naturel qui fait chaque jour notre richesse, nous concoctons dans notre magnifique cuisine de petits et grands miracles pour des hôtes fidèles eux aussi respectueux du monde.

Oscar Comalli, notre Sommelier et Claudio Dietrich, le directeur, ont une obsession: la cave du Waldhaus. Plus de 20 000 bouteilles y reposent, parmi lesquelles 30 à 40% de vins suisses. Notre carte des vins est régulièrement reconnue par des experts et citée dans des publications professionnelles. Elle présente un choix spectaculaire, à des prix sciemment non spectaculaires.

 Carte des vins

Lorsque Renato Pellegrinelli donne la dernière touche de menthe à un sorbet à l’ananas, son enthousiasme est palpable.

Helge von Giese

DEMI-PENSION Testez-nous

Il n’y a pas de meilleure manière pour apprendre à connaître notre philosophie culinaire qu’adopter la demi-pension classique. Au cours d’une saison, la brigade apport un bon millier de mets différents sur la table. En tant qu’hôte en demi-pension, vous aurez toujours une série de choix, chaque jour renouvelée, d’entrées et de plats principaux (poisson et plats végétariens compris) et de desserts. Un exemple du menu du jour. Le dîner de gala hebdomadaire, nos soirées à thème et nos menus spéciaux vous promettent toujours de nouvelles découvertes.

Souffrez-vous d’intolérances alimentaires, d’allergies, ou renoncez-vous à certains aliments pour quelque raison que ce soit? Notre Chef Gero Porstein s’entretiendra volontiers avec vous personnellement, si possible avant votre séjour.


Les producteurs de la région

Le Waldhaus travaille depuis toujours avec les producteurs de la région.
Pour les paysans, l’agriculture est la plus pure des passions et une question de valorisation. Une passion et une estime qu’ils cultivent dans leur relation avec les animaux, les plantes et la terre. Rien d’étonnant, dès lors, à ce que leurs produits soient si goûteux – qu’il s’agisse du lait tout frais du val Fex, du fromage de chèvre d’Isola, de la viande séchée de Pila ou des pommes de terre anciennes de la vallée de l’Albula.

De notre côté, nous veillons à vous fournir toutes les explications nécessaires au buffet du petit-déjeuner ou sur la carte du jour. Vous pourrez lire, par exemple: «Tagliata de bœuf du Puschlav, cuit sur notre grill à charbon de bois de 108 ans, pommes de terre au four au pimenton et romarin, ragoût de légumes sicilien aux olives taggiasca et vinaigre de pommes, sauce chimichurri au citron vert.» Goûter de tels délices, c’est se rapprocher encore un peu de la Création.

Au Waldhaus, nous intégrons ces produits naturels partout où nous le pouvons. D’ailleurs, certains de nos collaborateurs reconnaissent volontiers une passion secrète pour la ferme toute proche.

Faites vous aussi la connaissance de nos fournisseurs, ces individualistes profondément liés à la nature.

LINKS vers les producteurs

 

Hof «Al Canton»; Crasta Farm; Fränzi Egeler (Fex); Sennerei; Macelleria Chiesa (Bergell); Marco Giovanoli (Bergell); Mulino Scartazzini; Latteria BregagliaAndy Mark; Freddy Christandl; Heinrich Tschalèr; Familie Tschanz;

 

 

  • Sennerei Pontresina

    Spécialités fromagères

  • Hof «Al Canton»

    Des plantes aromatiques bio

  • Marco Giovanoli

    Élevage bovin e agriculture