Bregaglia & Poschiavo

Fascinating southern valleys

A stay at the Waldhaus would not be complete without a visit to the Val Bregaglia or the Val Poschiavo. Ask for our information booklets about these two nearby regions so that you can fully enjoy their natural and cultural beauty.

Here in Val Bregaglia, we have no sun for three months in the winter. When it reappears over the mountain peaks in the spring and the snow melts away, the entire valley seems sprinkled with golden dust.

Giovanni Giacometti

Castelmur manor house/Stampa-Coltura (only open in summer)

Local architecture & cultural history

A fascinating and peculiar blend of architectural styles, the Redolfi family’s manor house, built in 1723, was expanded to a Moorish-Gothic “castle” after 1850. It holds a permanent exhibition on the emigration of Graubünden pastry chefs and the historic archives of the valley. Link

Swiss National Park/S-chanf

Wild and wonderful!

The Swiss National Park founded in 1914 is Switzerland’s largest wilderness area. This unique natural oasis includes 170 km2 of untouched natural countryside with 80km of marked trails. The Visitors’ Center in Zernez is 45km from the Waldhaus, while hikers can also access the park in S-chanf, 26km from the Waldhaus. Link

Bernina glaciers

Glacier adventure.

You can experience the fascination of glaciers in the Bernina region between the Engadine and the Val Poschiavo. The UNESCO World Heritage Bernina Railway line of the Rhaetian Railway or the Diavolezza cable car provide splendid views. Link

Border town Chiavenna

at the bottom of the Italian-Swiss alpine pass.

The Italian gateway to the Maloja Pass, Chiavenna is full of special discoveries.

 

Excursion to Lake Como

La Dolce Vita

Lake Como is just a 90-minute drive from Sils Maria; a perfect place to enjoy a taste of Italian life.

Bergell & Puschlav

Faszinierende Südtäler

Kein Aufenthalt im Waldhaus ohne einen Besuch des Bergells oder des Puschlavs. Fragen Sie nach den eigens für uns erstellten Informationsheftchen dieser beiden nahegelegenen Regionen, um die Natur- und Kulturschönheiten dieser Täler voll ausschöpfen zu können.

Wir haben hier im Bergell während des Winters drei Monate lang keine Sonne. Wenn sie nun im Frühjahr wieder hinter den hohen Berggipfeln auftaucht und der Schnee verschmolzen ist, so erscheint das ganze Tal mit goldigem Staub bestreut.

Giovanni Giacometti

Schloss Castelmur/Stampa-Coltura

Lokale Architektur & Kulturgeschichte

Palazzo der Familie Redolfi von 1723, nach 1850 zum maurisch-neugotischen «Schloss» erweitert. Es beherbergt eine Dauerausstellung über die Emigration der Bündner Zuckerbäcker und das historische Archiv des Tales (nur in den Sommermonaten geöffnet). Weitere Informationen

Schweizerischer Nationalpark/S-chanf

Wild und schön!

Der 1914 gegründete Schweizerische Nationalpark ist das grösste Wildnisgebiet der Schweiz. Diese einmalige Naturoase umfasst 170 km2 unberührte Naturlandschaft mit 80km markierten Wanderwegen. Das Besucherzentrum in Zernez liegt 45km, ein weiterer Zugang bei S-chanf für Wanderer 26km vom Waldhaus entfernt. Weitere Informationen

Bernina Glaciers

Gletscher-Erlebnis.

Im Berninagebiet zwischen Engadin und Valposchiavo wird die Faszination Gletscher erlebbar. Die UNESCO-Welterbe Bernina-Linie der Rhätischen Bahn oder die Bergbahn zur Diavolezza eröffnen phantastische Ausblicke. Weitere Informationen

Grenzstädtchen Chiavenna

Der italienisch-schweizerische Alpenpass.

Unweit des Malojapasses gibt es in diesem Grenzstädtchen viel zu entdecken.

 

Ausflug zum Comer See

La Dolce Vita

Von Sils Maria mit dem Auto in nur 90 Minuten zu erreichen, ist ein Ausflug an den Comer See; ein Klassiker italienischen Lebensgefühls.