Architecture

The Waldhaus holds a prominent position within Swiss hotel architecture. ICOMOS Switzerland, the International Council on Monuments and Sites, named it Swiss “Historic Hotel of the Year” in 2005. In 2015, it received a special anniversary prize “20 years of Historic Hotels of the Year”. The Waldhaus is not the largest nor the fanciest hotel in Switzerland, and its architecture, reflecting the efforts of – by now – five generations eager above all else to have it work well for its guests, may irritate the purists. Yet there are few hotels with such allure. What makes the Waldhaus stand out in a class of its own?

Josef Giger, owner and founder of the Waldhaus, which he opened in 1908, had engaged Karl Koller, one of the leading hotel architects of the time, to build something “beautiful, practical and solid”. Having managed grand hotels for decades, Giger had clear ideas of what the Waldhaus should be. His perfectionism in all business decisions, from choosing the location to rules for chambermaids, is legendary.

The Waldhaus projects the image of a fortress on a hill. Set away from famous St. Moritz, its location in Sils Maria and its aesthetics are a grand symbolic gesture full of restrained beauty and elegance.

Later generations at the Waldhaus, which has been owned by the same family since it was built, have always been respectful of its historical values and have enlisted knowledgeable architects to ensure that the old does not get lost in the new designs. Very few other hotels in Europe can claim a place of their own in cultural history.

  • Builders and owners: Josef and Amalie Giger-Nigg
  • Architect: Karl Koller
  • Construction period: 1905–1908
  • Opened: June 15, 1908
  • Cost: CHF 2,200,000

Time travel

We invite you to take a look at a few select places and details of the Waldhaus.

First, there are the façades. They have a distinct sobriety as Giger had consciously turned away from the Belle Époque’s wealth of forms in 1908.

You enter the Waldhaus via the main entrance with its airy fan-like canopy and are personally greeted by a member of the family, whether you are famous in the world at large or not. The hotel entrance was changed in 1924 and 1967, and took on its current form in 2003.

When you come in, your attention is immediately drawn to the great lounge. We are very protective of its atmosphere of a true, relaxed living room which it has always had.

A 1959 Camenzind chandelier adds to the atmosphere in the Wedding Room. To get to this room, you pass through the Empire Room, one of the best-preserved salons at the hotel.

To the right of the great lounge, you will find the bar, which until 1929 had held the reading room and library. Significant components from 1908 were expertly reincorporated during the 1999/2000 restoration. Behind the bar, our current reading room also contains 1908 furnishings.

Let’s go up to the guestrooms. Our central stairs form one of the most valuable Belle Époque staircases in a Swiss hotel. The artfully simple corridors, which were restored to their 1908 form in 2005, form an intact architectural ensemble.

22 of our 140 guestrooms have been restored with original 1908 furnishings, three of them even have period bathrooms.

Our indoor pool dates from 1970 and was designed by an important Swiss ‘classical modernist’, Otto Glaus.

In 1986, we rebuilt the 1908 chapel and expanded it to 60 seats: a peaceful retreat for our guests and staff.

Marvel at the 1908 and 2016 layouts of our premises, the latter already including our latest major project, the Waldhaus Spa.

We change, but we remain who we always were.

Literature: Roland Flückiger-Seiler: Hotel Waldhaus Sils-Maria. Available at the Waldhaus.

Architects

  • Duri Barblan
  • Alberto Camenzind
  • Otto Glaus Arch. – Bauleitung: Renato De Pellegrini
  • Ferdinand Pfammatter
  • Pedro A. Casada/ Charles Lüthi
  • Miller & Maranta
  • Armando Ruinelli

Architektur

Das Waldhaus nimmt innerhalb der Schweizer Hotelarchitektur eine herausragende Stellung ein. ICOMOS Schweiz, International Council on Monuments and Sites, kürte es 2005 zum Historischen Hotel des Jahres. 2015 erhielt es den grossen Jubiläumspreis «20 Jahre Historische Hotels des Jahres». Dabei war und ist das Waldhaus weder das grösste noch das luxuriöseste Haus der Schweiz – und doch gibt es wenige Hotels mit einer solchen Ausstrahlung. Was macht das Waldhaus so einzigartig?

Josef Giger, Bauherr und Gründer des Waldhauses, das 1908 seine Pforten öffnete, hatte bei Karl Koller, einem der führenden Hotelarchitekten der Zeit, etwas Schönes, Praktisches & Solides in Auftrag gegeben. Als Direktor von Grand Hotels mit jahrzehntelanger Erfahrung hatte Giger klare Vorstellungen, wie das Waldhaus sein sollte. Seine Präzision in allen unternehmerischen Entscheidungen, von der Standortwahl bis zum Reglement für Zimmermädchen, ist Legende.

Das Waldhaus gleicht dem Bild einer Burg auf dem Hügel. Abseits des berühmten St. Moritz gelegen, sind seine Lage in Sils Maria und die Ästhetik eine grosszügige, symbolische Geste voller zurückhaltender Schönheit und Eleganz.

Die nachfolgenden Generationen des Waldhauses, das seit der Gründung im Familienbesitz ist, modernisierten stets mit grossem Respekt und unter Heranziehung sachkundiger Architekturbüros. Es gibt wenige Hotels in Europa, die von sich behaupten können, dass sie selbst ein Stück Kulturgeschichte sind.

  • Bauherren: Josef und Amalie Giger-Nigg
  • Architekt: Karl Koller
  • Bauzeit: 1905–1908
  • Eröffnung: 15. Juni 1908
  • Kosten: CHF 2.200.000

Zeitreisen

Wir laden Sie ein, Ihren Blick auf ausgewählte Orte und Details des Waldhauses zu richten.

Da ist zunächst die bis zum Ende der 60er Jahre original restaurierte Fassade, mit deren nüchternen Gestaltung man sich 1908 bewusst abwendete vom Formenreichtum der Belle Époque.

Sie betreten das Waldhaus über den Hoteleingang mit dem schwebenden Vordach und werden persönlich von einem Familienmitglied begrüsst. Keine hierarchische Inszenierung ist hier erkennbar. Der Hoteleingang wurde 1924, 1967, 1988 und 2003 auf die heutige Erscheinungsform angepasst.

Auf der Eingangsebene zieht die Grand Hall alle Aufmerksamkeit auf sich. Noch immer kultivieren wir hier die ursprünglich angelegte Wohnzimmer-Atmosphäre.

Ein Camenzind-Leuchter von 1959 schafft Atmosphäre im Hochzeitssaal. Diesen betreten Sie über den Musiksalon im Empire-Stil, restauriert im Originalzustand von 1908.

Rechts von der Grand Hall befindet sich die Bar, an deren Stelle sich bis 1929 der Lesesalon und die Bibliothek befand. Wesentliche Raumelemente von 1908 wurden in der Restauration 1999/2000 gekonnt in Szene gesetzt. Unser heutiger Lesesalon rechts von der Bar ist ebenfalls mit Mobiliar von 1908 ausgestattet.

Wir begeben uns zu den Zimmern: Unser Haupttreppenhaus gehört zu den wertvollsten Treppenensembles der Belle Époque in Schweizer Hotels. Auch die schlichten Korridore, 2005 im Zustand von 1908 renoviert – sind als einheitliches Ensemble erhalten.

22 unserer 140 Zimmer sind restaurierte und mit historischem Mobiliar ausgestattete Gästezimmer von 1908, drei davon sogar mit historischen Badezimmern.

Unser Hallenbad wurde 1970 vom damals führenden Hallenbad-Architekten Otto Glaus entworfen.

1986 erweiterten wir im Untergeschoss die katholische Kapelle von 1908 auf 60 Plätze. Sie ist ein wichtiger Ort der Stille und Besinnung für Gäste und Mitarbeiter gleichermassen.

Staunen Sie über den Grundriss des Waldhauses von 1908 und 2016, dem Zustand nach unserem neusten Grossprojekt, dem Waldhaus-Spa:

Wir verändern uns und bleiben doch die, die wir immer waren.

Literatur: Roland Flückiger-Seiler: Hotel Waldhaus Sils-Maria. Erhältlich im Hotel Waldhaus.

Architekten

  • Duri Barblan
  • Alberto Camenzind
  • Otto Glaus Arch. – Bauleitung: Renato De Pellegrini
  • Ferdinand Pfammatter
  • Pedro A. Casada/Charles Lüthi
  • Miller & Maranta
  • Armando Ruinelli